Charged With Criminal Domestic Violence in Columbia, SC?
You need a CDV attorney. But not just any attorney. You need one that’s skilled at helping people facing a CDV.
You and your spouse had a disagreement. Maybe it was over finances, the kids or something as small as a text message. It’s possible you, or the both of you, had a bit too much to drink, and things took a bad turn. The next thing you know, cops are at your front door, and you’ve been charged with criminal domestic violence in SC.
What follows a CDV Charge
Depending on whether this is your 1st, 2nd or 3rd criminal domestic violence (CDV) offense, if convicted, you could be facing:
- Charges on your record that take years to get removed
- Steep fines. Up to $1,000 for 1st offense and $5,000 for a 2nd offense.
- The loss of your right to carry a firearm
- Up to 30 days in jail for a 1st offense
- Up to 60 days in for a 2nd offense
What you don’t know could hurt you
There are common misconceptions about a CDV charge in SC. And it’s these misconceptions that keep people from taking action. Some include:
My partner wants to get this charge dismissed? Is that possible?
While it is possible for your partner to request for charges to be dismissed, a request for dismissal does not guarantee a dismissal. The decision to prosecute is in the hands of the State.
It’s my 1st offense, won’t it get dismissed?
It’s unlikely. If there is probable cause, first offense CDV cases will be prosecuted -- with the exception of dismissal due to judicial intervention.
Does my partner have to testify for me to be convicted?
No. Testimony from your partner is not required for a conviction. Photographs of any injuries or any statements taken by the police, including 911 recordings, can be used to prosecute the state's case.
I didn’t physically injury my partner. Can I still be charged with CDV?
Yes, you can. Physical injury, an offer to cause injury or an attempt to do so are each sufficient enough to lead to a CDV conviction -- according to the South Carolina statute for Domestic Violence.
As you can see, things are never straightforward -- especially when it comes to Criminal Domestic Violence Laws in South Carolina. But, that’s where our attorneys come in.
- Barney Giese has over 30 years experience as the former “chief” prosecutor for Richland and Kershaw county. That means you have access to an attorney with unique perspective because he sees your situation from both sides of the law.
- Barney has been involved in a wide variety of cases ranging from criminal domestic violence to high-profile murder cases -- cases that have been covered on Court TV, truTV, CBS' "48 Hours" and NBC's "Dateline."
- Barney has over 30 years of criminal trial experience in state and federal courts of South Carolina
- Keith Giese has over 29 years experience as former prosecutor and criminal defense attorney. In addition, he was the Deputy Solicitor (prosecutor) in York, SC.
- Keith has been involved in a wide variety of high-profile cases, including numerous death penalty cases, such as and hundreds of murder cases. Cases such Susan Smith in Union County, SC (1995), arguably the most publicized criminal case in the history of this state.
At this point, you’ve heard everything we have to say. You know you need an attorney, and you know experience counts. So give yourself your best chance, and call us at 803.708.6767. Or send us an email.